Back In The Saddle

It has been good to s-l-o-w-l-y get back in the saddle with painting since the sale.  Last year I jumped in and paid for it.  This year, surprise, surprise, I sort of did the same thing  I promise I will learn eventually. 

I have done a ton of ‘shopping’ and that has been fun. But it is the painting and creating that I LOVE.

Here are some of the things I have been working on.

Here is the before of an adorable primitive cabinet.  Kind of cool and chippy as it is, but I had a plan . . .

IMG_3430

Here is the after.  I LOVE it!!!!  I painted cream underneath the primer red, and distressed it and used dark wax.  If this piece was not a custom order I seriously would keep it.  I wonder if they will change their mind.

IMG_3455IMG_3457IMG_3460

Kind of a funny picture, isn’t it?  It is a super cute waterfall vanity that has a really cool mirror.  I will show you the after pictures when I am done.  I have it distressed and dark waxed.   It is looking awesome.  I think Zoe will love it.  She is a sweet little girl whose mommy bought it for her at my sale.

IMG_3432

I have been painting outside all this week, it has been beautiful, hasn’t it?  The paint dries even faster, which seems impossible. I basically am on the second coat as soon as I finish the first.  Then, I am able to wax it pretty much when I am done with the second coat.

I’m not doing a thing to this really cool, super chippy chair that is reportedly from the 1800s.

IMG_3447

I haven’t figured out what to do with this little beauty yet.  I love some of the original floral motifs.  I am working on figuring out a way to refresh it without losing its charm.  I will keep you posted.

IMG_3461

This beauty is a custom color that I will call ‘aqua’.  I am not sure she if for sale yet, as I have been working on this color and this is pert near perfect!  I just had to show you, I am a proud mama.

IMG_3449IMG_3451

Tomorrow I am finishing up a gorgeous antique, shabby chic, old white buffet.  It is for a sweet woman’s wedding.  I really think these antique buffets were created to be painted white and all shabby!  I am sure that irritates the wood purists, but I think I am right on this. Winking smile

Also, two antique small cabinets are on the painting block. What are you up to?

Have a wonderful weekend!

Michelle

4 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

4 responses to “Back In The Saddle

  1. Meghan

    Ooooooo, love, love, love the red cabinet!! That’s one lucky customer!

  2. Sharon

    LOVE that aqua! THAT’s te color I’ve been looking for 🙂 CUTE red cabinet too. Can’t wait to see what you come up with for the ‘treasure”. Keep having fun!

  3. Nicole Espinloza

    I was just wondering if you still have your red farmhouse table for sale? We are moving next week and in need of a smaller but cure table!! Let me know..
    THanks,
    Nicole

  4. Kari Powell

    Hi Michelle,
    Nope we haven’t changed our mind.=-) We love it!!! Can we come by this week to pick it up?
    Thanks,
    Kari

Leave a Reply

